Author Topic: University Assignent.  (Read 2171 times)

GWRowley

• View Profile
University Assignent.
« on: November 10, 2012, 08:16:39 pm »
Hi,

I am currently studying a module known as web broadcast, part of this module is making a contribution to the internet, how would you guys rate the importance and impact you could have? would you say the impact would be permanent and/or measureable?

Rick Nowell

• Bristol, U.K.
    • View Profile
Re: University Assignent.
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2012, 04:55:40 pm »
As I understand your question, you're asking what impact GZ has had for Science and
the Internet and whether that is quantifiable. As a personal opinion, I think that within
the parameters of 'citizen science' and 'crowdsourcing' it has had a great effect. Outside
these, it is much harder to judge, but I would guess not too much. How much real effect
has GZ had on Astronomical thinking? This is not to trivialise GZ, but Astronomy is such a
massive subject and so full of unknowns, do Voorwerps and Peas impact that much on
it?

While it is true that GZ has been used in general education and got onto the television,
especially with 'Planethunters', galaxy-based astronomy is an esoteric subject at best.
'Redshift', 'light years', these sort of terms are not everyday and require considerable
background knowledge. Certainly, judging whether a galaxy is spiral or elliptical is easy
enough, given a few minutes of application. But do 'the general public' understand what,
for instance, 200,00 light years means?

So while GZ has got hundreds of thousands of people involved in astronomy through
getting people to make simple judgements, has it changed mainstream astronomical
thinking? As it has shown by its popularity, people do want to get involved. Through the
success of other projects, it's obvious that this crowdsourcing is useful in other fields
of research. So it is easy to conclude that GZ set a precedent. After all, internet science