Author Topic: "to the stars"  (Read 2390 times)

system322

• View Profile
"to the stars"
« on: March 30, 2013, 09:50:04 pm »
Yup, hello in there...

Well were I will start...

Since I was 14 years old I had the strange feeling that the sky, the endless empty space filled with tiny dots of light, kept some secrets that went beyond what I could imagine.

It was a night, the first time to witness a meteor crashing down on the breathtaking horizon the strange forces that made that object produce those impressive flashes crossed through our heads.

Do not take long to wonder, for he had come, or who had been part before separating and falling on the ground. Thus, during my stage in high school I started studying (by myself because in those times not offered a course of instruction in astronomy) the reasons, forces, and endless developments that astronomers have contributed to science and understanding of the universe.

But it was not until 1999 when I saw "Assignment Discovery" the Hubble space telescope, something that seemed impossible was a reality. For the first time ever I could see galaxies beyond the reach of our telescopes here on earth. Further increasing my thirst to know why they are there, how they formed, and mainly that these formations hidden mysteries of dust and gases.

At 17 years old, I already had in mind to follow my career, I wanted to be an astronomer, not to contribute to science but to understand even more about the universe. In those years I wanted to know all the truths, how we got here, that the future holds, but I must confess that I had an extraordinary desire to know whether there were other humans out there, beyond our reach, looking at the stars, wondering if other spices as they would exist somewhere in the cosmos.